Individual Frittatas – Cheeseburger style

I made a large batch of these savory muffins so I could freeze some to take out for future quick meals. I used my Texas-size muffin pans because I thought it would make a good main dish serving size, however, half of one is plenty for me. Next time I make them I will use regular size muffin pans.

2 lb ground beef – I use ground sirloin
1-2 cups water
2 yellow onions, chopped
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup reduced sugar ketchup
2 Tbsp reduced sodium soy sauce
salt and pepper to taste
18 large eggs, beaten
2 cups cheddar cheese – I use a fat-free type

Lightly spray 12 Texas size muffin pans with non-stick spray, or use oil. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Combine ground beef, 1 cup water, onion and garlic in a large skillet over med-high heat. Cook until all water has evaporated, stirring often to break up the meat. I usually add another cup of water and continue to cook until that water has evaporated also – this gives the ground beef a softer texture that I like, but it’s up to you whether you do this or not. Once the water has evaporated, if there is any fat accumulated in pan, drain it off. Add ketchup, soy sauce, salt and pepper to the cooked meat, and stir.

Spoon ground beef evenly into muffin pans. Top with cheddar cheese, then pour beaten eggs over the beef and cheese mixture. Place muffin pans in preheated oven and bake for approximately 45 minutes, until tops are slightly browned and puffed. Let the frittatas cool for about 10-15 minutes then remove from pan.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

